Rain

Welcome Rain
by Victoria Ramsey

Warm rain bounces off asphalt and parched land alike
Birds on branches fluffing wings and preening happily
Taxis with singing wipers spray showers along curbs
Pedestrians shriek as they are pelted by spray, as they scurrying on their way
seeking shelter from this unexpected cloudburst
I lick the water running across my lips, lapping like a dog, one of lifes small pleasures
Hair stringing across my face, fine leather shoes ruined, my dress wraps me like celophane
Passersby avert their eyes when I catch them looking my way
Crazy lady sitting on a concrete bench trying to hide her pain
as rain waterfalls down her from head to toe
Crying eyes shielded by the welcome deluge of enexpected rainImage

Leave a Reply

