Fences Make Good Neighbors

I moved out to the country to keep the folks at bay
Fences make good neighbors, that’s what they always say
I bought a little plot of land, ten acres with a lake
I put up an electric fence with an electric gate
My neighbors are all ranchers, cattle and game deerroping (3)
They throw bar-b-cues and parties a few times a year
People come by busload for food and revelry
The smell of beer and bar-b-cue wafting in the wind
Sounds of laughter and music drawing others in
The party lasts for hours, it may go on for days
I wish I’d been invited, instead, in my bed I lay
I moved out to the country to keep the folks at bay
Fences make good neighbors, that’s what they always say

Leave a Reply

