And No One Listened

DSCF4229I sit here on this wooden throne,
surveying my scrap metal empire.
Rust and crumbled concrete, all that remains,
covering our earth.

I told them, I warned them.
Prepare, prepare, prepare.
And no one listened.

We polluted, we destroyed, we abandoned.
We dumped, cleared, and piled trash
as high as we could stack it.

I begged them, I pleaded.
Beware, beware, bewar.
And no one listened.

Hatred, war, bombs, germ warfare,
killing, poisoning of lands and people alike
Stacking up the bodies, filling up the pits.

I told them, I warned them.
Prepare, prepare, prepare.
And no one listened.
Now there’s no one left to care.

One thought on “And No One Listened

Leave a Reply

