The Rose

DSCF0715I held the roses to my face, breathed in the heady scent.
Roses hued in scarlet, said to signify your love.
I pressed them in my journal, which I wrote in every day.

White roses, glowing in the moonlight, twining on the fence.
When you planted these roses you swore, that your love for me
was mightier than death.
This love would carry us through forever, that is what you said.

I threw the roses in your grave, they tore me and I bled.
Beautiful black roses drew my scarlet blood.
Just like the rose, I overlooked your thorns to appreciate
your petals.

Victoria Ramsey@2014

Leave a Reply

