Eyes Averted

I ask questions that you don’t hesitate to answer.
Why are your eyes averted? Looking down to the left,
is the answer written on the floor?
You give too many details, a simple answer
would suffice. Later, you forget your facts.

I smile and nod my head, can you tell I don’t believe?
There are times I look deeply into your eyes,
you don’t bother to look away. Have you no conscience?
How can your lying eyes bear to look at all my pain?
How do you convince yourself that your lies are truth?

Victoria Ramsey@2014

Leave a Reply

