It’s Just Dust

Sweeping up the pieces of all my broken dreams.
I find that there are few, they’re mostly smashed to dust.
There aren’t enough to rebuild, nothing to redeem.

This shattered pile has lain in the bottom of my heart.
I’m not strong enough to pick it up, not sure where to start.

The sun came up this morning, a gigantic golden orb.
No longer is my world muted, it’s easier to absorb.

I’ll continue sweeping, clear out all this dust.
When this job is finished I’ll find another love.
This one based on honesty, not on simple lust.

Victoria Ramsey@2014

Leave a Reply

