Bridge of Rope

I climbed the mountain,
struggled, scaled every ridge.
Wandered in the moonlight
until I found the bridge.The wood appeared as silver
in the full moons glow.
Heavy rope frayed by time,
I prayed that it would hold.

I bowed my head, whispered a  prayer.
Lord please let me pass.
He built this bridge to reach me.
Was it meant to last?

It droops in winter weather,
ravaged by many storms.
Been hit by lightening twice,
yet still retains its form.

One foot before the other.
A prayer with every step.
I make it to the middle.
This is where he lept.

 

Poem copyright protected and the property of Victoria Ramsey.

Not to be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

