Walk Away

And he said “I will not stop until you forgive me”

So he fell to his knees and beat his head against the floor

Wailing to be heard as I turned and walked away

He cast himself against the wall and beat upon his chest

I took all of my determination not to turn

I ached to take him in my arms, smooth his sweaty brow

I longed to hold him and kiss away his tears

His anguish tore at my heart

“Remain strong” I told myself

The pleading and promises have become too frequent

I am tired, I can’t do this anymore

I need to walk away, can’t give in again

Nobody ever told me it was going to be easy

Raising a seven year old was not for the faint of heart

VictoriaRamsey@2015

Leave a Reply

