Dance of the Dustmites

I sit here in my overstuffed chair
Thin legs barely reaching the ottoman
Bright light slanting through an opening in the blinds
Casting prisms on the far wall

I smile as I watch small fairies dance in the light
Twinkling and twirling as they float across the suns beam
Swaying to the music that fills the air
As the orchestra plays from the stage behind me

I find my head swaying along with the dancing fairies
As my hands raise and lower, keeping time with the orchestra
A silly smile lights my face and my eyes gleam
In merriment, my face flushes with excitement

Eventually a cloud rolls across the sun, the light beam fades
The dancing fairies disappear as does the orchestra
My gnarled hands rest in my lap, the smile slips from my face
As the nurse tucks the blanket tightly around my knees

My ears continue to ring as I slip into a deep sleep
And my chin falls to my chest
Here in this overstuffed chair where my legs barely
Reach the ottoman

(C) Victoria Feathers

Leave a Reply

