Always in my heart

I admit I’m not a good friend when it comes to staying close
To this I must confess, please believe me when I say
If you could look inside my heart you’d see your photo there
Check marks on its surface of days you have been missed

Memories etched deeply into my mind of happy times we shared
I’ve no time for recalling miseries; I will not lament
I stick my head into the sand and hide from life’s malcontent
I refuse to share my problems and I can’t take your worries home

I’m sorry if I’ve hurt you or caused you suffering, it’s never my intent
I hold you close in friendship; I keep you in my heart
I pray for you always, wishing only the best
If we are out of touch it is in voice only, you are always in my heart

(c) Victoria Ramsey 2016
Leave a Reply

