To my dog

 

Sharp rain cuts my skin

Thunder breaks my bones

I hold my breath under water

I fear that I will drown

 

Shake so hard my teeth spill out

I cannot remain afoot

Slogging through sucking mud

Pulled beneath drenched earth

 

Lakes become raging rivers

Surfer waves beat across the lawn

Noah’s ark floats down road

Springs fury beats and defeats blooms

 

You in my lap, arms hold you tight

Quivering, fur flies about the room

Tickling nostrils, choking my breath

Be still my friend, tis only a spring shower

(c) victoria ramsey

 

 

Leave a Reply

